top of page
  • Writer's picturekdiva5354

Power In A Name- Pt 1

Updated: Jul 4, 2021

There is power in a name


For roughly 21 years, I have felt forced to live under a different name. For those who know me – like really, really know me – they know how big I am about my name. Conversations often go:


Person: What is your name?

Me: My name is Keji. And say it right, please! It’s ‘K’, ‘G’…


Then I would usually go on a rant about all the different ways to remember the name and its pronunciation. For the few who I became very tight with, I would say my whole name. With eloquence and grace, I would say all four names and then hit them hard with my last name. With the stank face. With the E-40 ‘eghh!’ at the end. Lol.You'll get that later in due course. I used to take a lot of pride in my name, in who I am, who I was. I didn’t want your name; I didn’t want any other name. I was Keji. Morenikeji.


A New Me?


Over time, I got tired of all that. Tired of always having to keep ranting about my name. Tired of people constantly asking me about my name. I would feel insecure about myself or feel like people were asking just to make fun of me or to be ‘entertained’. They would still get my name wrong five minutes later, even the part as simple as Keji. This started to irritate me. Now, as time passed, I had to change my name. Once this happened, I felt forced to keep this new name, taking me away from the true me (more on this later). Over time, I converted from Morenikeji to Keji, and then to just "K".


“K, sir.”

“K, master.”

“K this time… and maybe sometime after.”


So, now conversations go:

Person: What’s your name?

Me: I’m Keji. But you can just call me K.


I would keep it short because, I know even if I told you my name, you wouldn't say my name right, or you would not care enough to even try. So, "I’m K!"


Re-emergence: A Changed Me!


After a beautiful talk today and retapping in, I’m like, “Oh yea! That’s right. I am Keji. I am Morenikeji! I am African.” My name in the Yoruba language means ‘I am a reflection’, ‘I am a twin’ , or you could say ‘I have found someone like me.’


Recently, a family member has been calling me by my true name. Hearing my name properly pronounced sparks so much life in me. Now, when I to talk to someone who doesn’t know me, I force them to say my name correctly. I make sure not to let it slide which kinda feels… different. It feels good and has helped me build up so much confidence in myself.

So, I encourage anyone who has a ‘difficult’ name, to NEVER let anyone get away with pronouncing your name incorrectly. Don’t let anyone steal any part of you or your life.


Be Who You Are


With such a name, how and why would one run away from that? With such a name, how can someone tell you that you are NOT smart? That you are NOT wealthy and rich. That you are not worthy. That you are not reliable. That you are not protected and watched over. That you are alone.


So as individuals go on their mission to find their true heritage through ancestry.com or do a DNA search, I will highly suggest that you too start to learn your name, the meaning and power behind it. And guess what? To do so, it is free. No $99 monthly membership. No cost for someone who doesn’t know you to tell you who YOU are. No cost at all. I’m just saying. As you go through this journey called life, continue to live.

Continue to learn.

Continue love.

And stay F.L.Y.!!!


So, Who am I? Morenikeji.


Who are you?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page