top of page
  • Writer's picturekdiva5354

Evolution of Music & Jabbawockeez



From the garage, to dancing at a local college, to the gym, to TV to now, Jabbawockeez, seeing this group for the first time live has been nothing but inspiring to watch. A dance group that's been able to formulate intricately the beauty of various dance styles to a wide range of musical genres & songs that will live forever. With great precision and execution to move to every beat, one has no choice but to fall in love.


I remember the days dancing with one of the originals, back in my college years. Great guy.

He was a bboy also known as a breakdancer. I was a studio dancer, engaging in jazz, tap, ballet, & hip hop. No, this was not the time of twerking and pole dancing classes, Especially on Sacramento. Now, what I loved about this, was the fact these were two totally different worlds of dance at that time. I wanted to tighten up and master all dance styles. I was able to do jazz tap ballet and hip hop but I cannot break dance. For bboy, as talented as he was, he was told that he should take formal dance training. You know about whole story line of now modern day dance movies. So we agreed to meet up every once in a while at the local gym and dance. There he taught me moves, I taught him moves, we both improved.


Now to see them dance 3 generations in Jabbawockeez, is nothing but pure beauty. They did a segment from the south. The "dirty souf". It brought back so many memories. It reminded me if all the classes that I would teach to southern music. This was a big deal at that time because no one was playing this on the west coast, especially on the radio. There dance style brought in the crowd to feel & experience the energy of crunk music. If you didn't know about crunk, you gone learn today.

By time I left the show, i was feeling empowered, inspired, motivated, and full of life. A dance show for all ages, backgrounds and generations to love. If you are ever in Vegas, this is a must see show on your list.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page